ABC Medical Center > Tipos de dieta > The most recommended Healthy Eating Plate

The most recommended Healthy Eating Plate

9:46 - 12 April , 2022

Daily nutrition is the basis of who we are. If we eat well and exercise regularly, we will have a healthy life.

The healthy eating plate classifies food into three groups according to the body’s requirements. All groups are equally important, as all three are necessary to be healthy.

Remember to include all three colors in your diet.

Green group

Vegetables and fruits: apple, orange, banana, papaya, lettuce, tomato, broccoli, carrot, etc.

Benefit: They are a good source of vitamins, minerals, water, and fiber. They reduce the risk of cardiovascular diseases.

Yellow group

Cereals: bread, tortilla, cookies, pasta, rice, corn, potato, etc.

Benefit: they are a source of energy, they provide carbohydrates, vitamins, minerals, and fiber. They reduce the risk of cardiovascular diseases when they are wholewheat.

Red group

Legumes and animal source foods: beans, broad beans, lentils, chickpeas, fish, chicken, beef, eggs, dairy products, etc.

Benefit: they provide protein, vitamins, and minerals, although it is advisable to moderate the consumption of red meat and eggs.

The purpose of the healthy eating plate is to ensure that people who have a healthy diet maintain it, in addition to redirecting poor eating patterns towards healthier ones that allow them not only to regain their normal weight but also help them prevent diseases and be healthy.